Out of Town Travellers

Getting to Squamish British Columbia

The closest International Airport is Vancouver Airport (YVR).  Almost equal driving time is the Abbotsford Airport (YXX).

If you’re renting a car, either airport will work, and you may even enjoy the Abbotsford (YXX) airport more, as it is a smaller airport and getting in and out, and checking-in will be a much simpler process.

If you plan to use a taxi or limo/Towncar, the cost will be high, but it is an option, and YVR (Vancouver) will be the preferred airport for this option.

If you’re looking to get to Squamish using bus transportation the following companies service YVR (Vancouver) to Squamish:

Perimeter Transport: http://www.perimeterbus.com/select-your-bus

Pacific Coach: https://www.pacificcoach.com/bus-vancouver-to-whistler/yvr-whistler-skylynx/squamish-to-yvr/

Skylynx: https://www.yvrskylynx.com/?gclid=Cj0KCQiA7IDiBRCLARIsABIPohjQQLalPxUniAZmnKZNoB514hA3YIRY_UgLu1_Pfv9p7VTytywNJfAaArODEALw_wcB

Getting Around Squamish

Depending on how you look at it, Squamish is a large town or a small city of approximately 20,000 people.  While the town is spread-out, getting around on bicycle is achievable and can be quite enjoyable.  Many places are accessible on foot, but not all areas are within walking distance.

So, once you make your way to Squamish, if you’ve rented a car you may want to park it and enjoy your time in town on foot or by bike.

We have a bus system (Squamish Bus System) that also functions though this is not a big city and the bus system is limited and sporadic, so you’ll want to plan accordingly.  Still, the option is available, and you can mount bikes to the front of buses.

(Map courtesy of https://www.bctransit.com/squamish)

Throughout town there is a wide range of restaurants, hotels, grocery stores and other typical small-town amenities.    Alternatively, if you opt to look around via automobile, you will find good parking opportunities and easy driving.

 

So you’re here, and you want to ride?  First stop may be a local bike shop, and we have a few:

Bike Shops

Corsa Cycles – www.dunbarcycles.com

Tantalus Bike Shop – www.tantalusbikeshop.com

Republic Bicycles Ltd – www.riderepublic.com


Bike Rentals

Corsa Cycles – www.dunbarcycles.com

Sea to Sky Adventure Company – www.seatoskyadventurecompany.com

Flying Spirit Rentals Ltd –  www.flyingspiritrentals.com

Tantalus Bike Shop – www.tantalusbikeshop.com

Republic Bicycles Ltd – www.riderepublic.com

RideHub – www.ridehub.ca

 

Other essentials may include food, accommodation and other interests and activities. Read on…

Accommodations (in order of proximity to event)

Executive Suites Hotel & Resort: 604-815-0048

Sea to Sky Hotel: 604-898-4874

Sandman Hotel & Suites Squamish: 604-848-6000

Mountain Retreat Hotel: 604-815-0883

Squamish Adventure Inn & Hostel: 604-892-9240

Howe Sound Brewing: 604-892-2603

Sunwolf Lodge: 604-898-1537


Campgrounds

Alice Lake – Provincial Campground

Mountain Fun Base Camp

Klahanie Campground

Mamquam River Campground

Squamish Municipal Campground

Stawamus Chief Provincial Park

Paradise Valley Campground

Squamish Valley Campground


Restaurants

Norman Rudy’s – https://gibbonswhistler.com/norman-rudys   (604) 815-7978

The Match Eatery – http://matchpub.com/squamish  (604) 892-2946

Squamish Valley Golf Club – https://squamishvalleygolf.com  (604) 898-9521

The Watershed Grill – www.thewatershedgrill.com

Brew Pub – https://www.howesound.com   (604) 892-2603

Pepe’s Chophouse – http://pepeandgringo.net  (604) 898-3606

The Joinery / Locavore – www.joinerysquamish.com

Wigan Pier – www.wiganpier.ca

Sushi Sen –  www.sushisensquamish.com

Essence of India – www.essenceofindiarestaurant.com

Spice Root (Thai Food) – www.spiceroot.ca

Copper Coil – www.thecoppercoil.com

The Crabapple Café (Great Breakfasts) – thecrabapplecafe.ca

Saha Eatery – www.sahaeatery.ca

The Salted Vine – www.saltedvine.ca

Fergies Café – www.sunwolf.net

Samurai Sushi – www.whistlersamuraisushi.com

The Nest Restaurant – www.thenestrest.com

Umai Sushi & Grill – (604) 898-8624

Chef Big D’s (Try the Clubhouse) – (604) 892-0224

Naked Lunch – (604) 892-5552

Fortune Kitchen Chinese Cuisine – (604) 898-1811

Whitespot – https://www.whitespot.ca  (604) 892-7477

Boston Pizza – https://bostonpizza.com/en/index.html   (604) 898-5442

 

Pub’s, Craft Brewing

A-Frame Brewery (no kitchen but you can bring your own food) – www.aframebrewing.com

Howe Sound Brewing – www.howesound.com

Backcountry Brewing –  www.backcountrybrewing.com

Northyards Cidery – www.northyardscider.com

Cliffside Cider – www.cliffsidecider.com

Gillespies Fine Spirits – www.gillespiesfinespirits.com

Geo Cider Co – (778) 733-1080

 

Coffee Shops

Cloudburst Café – www.joinerysquamish.com

Bean Around the World Coffees – www.batw.ca

Caffè Garibaldi @ The Adventure Centre – https://www.facebook.com/caffegaribaldisquamish

Counterpart Coffee – www.counterpartcoffee.com

The Ledge Community Coffee House – https://the-ledge-community-coffee-house.business.site

Sunflower Bakery Café – www.sunflowerbakerycafe.com

Zephyr Café – www.zephyrcafe.ca

Tall Tree Bakery – www.talltreebakery.com

Galileo Coffee Company – www.galileocoffee.com

Artista Espresso Shop – (604) 567-0011

Fuel + Forest Café – (604) 898-5251

Tim Hortons (x2)

Starbucks (x2)

Outdoor Amenities

Sea to Sky Gondola: https://www.seatoskygondola.com  hiking

Garibaldi Provincial Park: hiking, biking

The Squamish Chief: hiking tails, climbing

Murrin Lake: swimming, climbing, bouldering, picnic

Alice Lake: lake stand up paddling, kayaking, swimming, kids play structures, pump track, mountain biking, hiking, picnic

Brohn Lake: swimming, hiking

Squamish Spit: wind surfing, kiteboarding, kayaking, stand up paddle boarding

Shannon Falls: hiking, sightseeing, picnic

Nexen Beach:  kayaking, stand up paddle boarding, tide-water beach

Brennan Park: BMX track, fields, pump track/skills park, skateboard park

Kid-Specific Activities

Brennan Park Pool

Airhouse

Ground Up Climbing Centre

Happimess

Squishy’s